Not every team manages their work on GitHub in the same way. Now you can disable Projects on a repository if you’re not using them.
Users with admin privileges can disable Projects by navigating to a repository’s settings and unchecking the “Projects” box. This hides the Projects tab from the repository navigation and removes Projects from Issue and Pull request sidebars, as well as Issue timeline events. Disabled projects are also inaccessible via API requests. Projects can be re-enabled at any time, at which point all projects in the repository will be restored to the state they were in when disabled.